Hechle, Ann (4 of 17) National Life Stories Collection: Crafts' Lives

  • Add a note
    Log in to add a note at the bottom of this page.
  • All notes
  • My notes
  • Hide notes
Please click to leave a note

The British Library Board acknowledges the intellectual property rights of those named as contributors to this recording and the rights of those not identified.
Legal and ethical usage »

Tags (top 25):
(No tags found for this item)
  • Type


  • Duration


  • Shelf mark


  • Subjects

    Book arts

  • Recording date

    2004-03-10, 2004-03-14, 2005-04-08

  • Recording locations

    Interviewee's home, Somerset

  • Interviewees

    Hechle, Ann, 1939- (speaker, female)

  • Interviewers

    Hughes, Hawksmoor (speaker, female)

  • Abstract

    Part 4: [Tape 2 Side B] Description of Christmases as a child. Description of school holidays, remarks on hating teenage parties and being very shy. Description of AH’s friends at school, mentions enjoying sports. Comments on learning art history from headmistress. Remarks on wanting to go to art school to study calligraphy on leaving school. Description of attending Reigate Art School aged 16, mentions calligraphy teacher William Bishop. Description of other students, remarks on being terrified. Remarks on moving to the Central School of Arts and Crafts (the Central) in 1958 and studying under IW. Description of clothes worn as a student: tweeds and twin-sets. Remarks on feeling frightened and shy at art school. Story about being taught painting by David Horton. Description of drawing classes with William Roberts. Remarks on only receiving help from Alan Reynolds. Comments on the poor quality of teaching, on not understanding form and on leaving the Central not able to draw. Long description of IW’s perceptive teaching of AH and approach to teaching calligraphy. Comments on M.C. Oliver’s [MCO] approach to teaching calligraphy.

  • Description

    Life story interview with Ann Hechle, calligrapher

  • Metadata record:

    View full metadata for this item